Salesbury

Select map to view larger area
SALESBURY, a township and a chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire. The township lies on an affluent of the river Ribble, 1½ mile W of Ribchester r. station, and 5 N by E of Blackburn. Acres, 1,150. Real property, 1,374. Pop., 331. Houses, 61. The manor belonged to the Salesburys; passed to the Clitheroes, the Talbots, and others; and belongs now to Lord De Tabley. Talbot the antiquary was a native. The chapelry is much larger than the township, and was constitute, in 1842. Post-town, Blackburn. Pop., 1,292. Houses, 254. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 118. Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was built in 1807.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Salesbury.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Salesbury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Salesbury area is Preston & South Ribble.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Salesbury which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Salesbury to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Salesbury was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Salesbury and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD678328 (Lat/Lon: 53.790510, -2.490263), Salesbury which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Salesbury was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.