GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Salford

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Genealogy
Select map to view larger area
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Poor Houses, Poor Law
Probate Records
SALFORD, a town, a township, seven chapelries, a district, and a hundred, in Lancashire. The town stands on the W side of the river Irwell, on the Bolton and Bury canal, and on the Northwestern, the Lancashire and Yorkshire, the East Lancashire, and the South Junction railways, contiguous to Manchester; is separated from that city only by the river Irwell, and communicates with it by numerous bridges; was politically superior to it in the 9th century; became afterwards suburbanto it; is now, in participation of its trade, and for all other practical purposes, an integral part of it; presents a near resemblance to it in streets and edifices; contains several public buildings and a great public park, which belong fully more to Manchester than to itself; has railway stations and numerous institutions of its own, and a post-office, several receiving post-offices, and several postal pillar-boxes under Manchester; publishes a weekly newspaper; and is a parliamentary and municipal borough.and a seat of petty sessions, quarter sessions, county courts, and a court of record. The borough boundaries are the same municipally as parliamentarily; and include all Salford, Pendleton, and Broughton townships, and part of Pendlebury. Amount of property and income tax charged in 1863, £27,220. Electors in 1833, 1,497; in 1863, 5,137. Pop. in 1861, 102,449. Houses, 19,128. The township comprises 1,220 acres. Real property, £199,407. Pop. in 1851, 63,423; in 1861, 71,002. Houses, 13,303. more ...

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Cemeteries

Agecroft Cemetery
Langley Road
Agecroft
Pendlebury
Lancashire
England
M27 8SS

Tel. 44 (0)161 736 2512 Fax. 44 (0)161 737 5538

They also have information on Weaste Cemetery.

Peel Green Cemetery
716 Liverpool Road
Eccles
Lancashire
England
M30 7LW

They also have information on Swinton Cemetery

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Salford.

Church History

Anne Gerhard, has researched some information concerning Early Christian Salford.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Salford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

Salford Register Office holds records of births, marriages and deaths since 1837.

Genealogy

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Salford to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Salford was a township in the parish of Manchester.

History

A description of the of area known as Hanky Park.

How Salford was granted it's charter.

A description of Salford in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Salford and places within its boundaries.

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Salford workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Salford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.0! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Monday, 29Oct2007 14:12:28 GMT - Phil Stringer]