Samlesbury
|
|
|
|
SAMLESBURY, a township-chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble, 2 miles E S E of Fulwood r. station, and 3¾ E by N of Preston. It contains part of Mellor-Brook hamlet, which has a post-office under Blackburn, and Roach hamlet, which has a cotton-mill. Acres, 4,270. Real property, £6,951; of which £10 are in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 1,435; in 1861, 1,215. Houses, 236. S. Old Hall is the seat of J. Harrison, Esq.; was erected in 1530, by Sir T. Southworth; was moated till the formation of the new road from Preston to Blackburn; contains a great hall, constructed of Massive and elegantly carved oak timbers; and was restored and finely embellished in 1864. Roach Hall dates from 1675, was long the residence of the Hoghton family, and is now a farm-house. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church is ancient. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, a national school, and charities £35.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- St Leonard the Less, Potter Lane, Church of England
- St Mary and St John Southworth, Preston New Road, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Samlesbury.Church History
Church Records
- St Leonard the Less, Potter Lane, Church of England
- St Mary and St John Southworth, Preston New Road, Roman Catholic
- Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Samlesbury area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.


