Satterthwaite

Select map to view larger area
Satterthwaite is a township of considerable extent, having a length of six miles and a breadth of upwards of four miles. A chain of hills covers the whole township, frequently exposing to the view nothing but the denuded rocks. In some places the fells are covered with a thick mantle of heath, while in a few favoured situations the scenery is of a sylvan character. The township possesses a village of the same name, about four miles south from Hawkshead, and also the hamlets of Cunsey, Dale Park, Force Forge, and Low Graythwaite.

This township is very thinly peopled; and on the road leading from Hawkshead to Graythwaite, which winds over hill and dale, the traveller may walk nearly four miles without passing a human habitation. A large portion of this hilly district is shrouded in coppice, which supplies the materials for the bobbin mills, an occupation which gives employment to many of the inhabitants. At Force Forge are two bobbin manufactories.

from Mannex's directory of Furness & Cartmel, 1882

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Satterthwaite.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Satterthwaite area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Satterthwaite area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Satterthwaite which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Satterthwaite to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Satterthwaite was a township in the parish of Hawkshead.

Maps

View maps of Satterthwaite and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD338923 (Lat/Lon: 54.321978, -3.019305), Satterthwaite which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Satterthwaite was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.