Scarisbrick

Select map to view larger area
SCARISBRICK, a village, a township-chapelry, and a sub-district, in Ormskirk parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands on the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 3 miles N W of Ormskirk r. station; and has a post-office under Ormskirk. The chapelry contains also the hamlets of Bescar and Snape-Green. Acres, 8,377. Real property, 13,752; of which 23 are in quarries. Pop., 2,112. Houses, 363. The manor, with S. Hall, belongs to Lady Scarisbrick. The living is annexed to Ormskirk. The church is in the later English style. There are chapels for Wesleyans and Roman Catholics, an endowed school with 18 a year, and charities 19. The sub-district contains also Burscough township, and comprises 13,336 acres. Pop., 4,573. Houses, 841.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Scarisbrick.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Scarisbrick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Scarisbrick area is West Lancashire.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Scarisbrick which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Scarisbrick to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Scarisbrick was a township in the parish of Ormskirk.

Maps

View maps of Scarisbrick and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD379132 (Lat/Lon: 53.611649, -2.940143), Scarisbrick which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Scarisbrick was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.