Seaforth

Select map to view larger area
SEAFORTH, a village and a chapelry in Sefton parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the coast, adjacent to the Liverpool and Southport railway, 4¼ miles N N W of Liverpool; and has a station on the railway, a post-office under Liverpool, and a hotel. The chapelry has no defined limits; but contains S. Hall, S. House, and numerous other good residences. The living is a p.curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, 150.* Patron, Sir T. Gladstone. The church was built in 1815, and has an octagonal tower, with eight pinnacles.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Seaforth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Seaforth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Seaforth area is Sefton South.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Seaforth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Seaforth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Seaforth was a chapelry in the township of Down Litherland in the parish of Sefton.

Maps

View maps of Seaforth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ323972 (Lat/Lon: 53.467161, -3.021308), Seaforth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Seaforth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.