Dunnerdale & Seathwaite

Select map to view larger area
SEATHWAITE, a chapelry and a mountain vale in Kirkby-Ireleth parish, Lancashire. The chapelry lies adjacent to Cumberland, 4¼ miles W by S of Coniston r.station. Post-town, Grisebeck, under Ulverstone. Acres, 10,940. Pop., 171. Houses, 34. The manor belongs to J. J. Rawlinson, Esq. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 80.* Patron, J. J. Rawlinson, Esq. The church is good; and there is a parochial school. The vale is mainly identical with the chapelry; descends 4 miles south-westward, at an acute angle to the Duddon river; is flanked, on the right, by Greyfriars mountain, on the left, by the Old Man of Coniston and Dow Crag; and contains, in its central part, the lakelet of S. Tarn, gemmed with an islet, over-hung by precipices, and commanding a vista-view away to Fairfield mountain.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Dunnerdale with Seathwaite.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Seathwaite area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Dunnerdale and Seathwaite area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Seathwaite which are provided by:

Directories

Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Dunnerdale & Seathwaite to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Seathwaite was a chapelry and Dunnerdale a township in the parish of Kirkby Ireleth.

History

The history of Dunnerdale and Seathwaite as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.

Maps

View maps of Seathwaite and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD227960 (Lat/Lon: 54.353661, -3.190886), Seathwaite which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Seathwaite was in the peculiar of the Dean of the Chapter of York whose records are deposited at the Borthwick Institute. A list of the probate records at York which relate specifically to the ancient parish of Kirkby Ireleth (including Broughton-in-Furness and Seathwaite) is available at Cumbria Record Office, Barrow.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.