Sefton

Select map to view larger area
SEPHTON, or Sefton, a township and a parish in West Derby district, Lancashire. The township lies on.the river Alt, near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 2 miles W of Mughall r. station, and 6½ N of Liverpool; has a post-office under Liverpool; and gives the title of Earl to the family of Molyneux. Acres, 1,233. Real property, 3,491. Pop., 430. Houses, 73. The manor was given, at the Norman conquest, to William de Moline or Molyneux; and, with Croxteth Park, belongs now to the Earl of Sephton. The Liverpool race-course is here; and has a grand stand of 1830, lofty, spacious, and commanding an extensive view. The parish contains also the townships of Lunt, Netherton, Aintree, Orelland Ford, Litherland, Thornton, Ince-Blundell, and Little Crosby, and the chapelry of Great Crosby; and extends to the sea. Acres, 21,168; of which 8,675 are water. Pop. in 1851, 7,278; in 1861, 10,159. Houses, 1,730. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, 1,825.* Patron, the Marquis de Rothwell. The church is of the time of Henry VIII., and has a tower and spire. The p. curacies of Seaforth, Aintree, Litherland, Waterloo-Christchurch, Waterloo, St. John, and Great Crosby are separate benefices. There are a national school, and charities 116.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Sefton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sefton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Sefton area is Sefton South.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Sefton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Sefton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Sefton contained the townships of Sefton, Ince Blundell, Little Crosby, Great Crosby, Down Litherland, Thornton, Lunt, Orrell, Netherton and Aintree.

Maps

View maps of Sefton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD355012 (Lat/Lon: 53.503512, -2.973934), Sefton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Sefton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.