Sharples

Select map to view larger area
SHARPLES, a township and a sub-district in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Bolton district, Lancashire. The town-ship lies 2½ miles N of Bolton; and contains the villages of Banktop, Sweet-Loves, High-Houses, Gale, Folds, Belmont, Piccadilly, Water-Meetings, Old Houses, and part of Astley-Bridge. Acres, 3,920. Real property, 14,697; of which 302 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 3,904; in 1861, 3,294. Houses, 697. There are cotton mills, calico print-works, extensive bleach-works, large reservoirs of Bolton water-works, the churches of Belmont and Astley-Bridge, Baptist and Wesleyan chapels, and national and British schools. The sub-district contains also the higher end or detached part of Little Bolton township. Pop. with S. township, in 1861, 4,243. Houses, 872.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bolton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Sharples.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sharples area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Sharples area is Bolton.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Sharples which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Sharples to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Sharples was a township in the parish of Bolton.

History

A description of Sharples in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Sharples and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD708119 (Lat/Lon: 53.602838, -2.442751), Sharples which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Sharples was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.