Shaw

Select map to view larger area
SHAW, a village and a chapelry in Prestwich parish, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Beal, near the Oldham and Rochdale railway, 2½ miles N N E of Oldham; is a large place, with well edificed and well-paved streets; presents a neat and clean appearance; carries on industry in cotton mills and in other establishments; and has a post-office under Oldham, and a r.station with telegraph. The chapelry was constituted in 1835. Pop. in 1861, 3,618. Houses, 767. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 220.* Patron, the Rector of Prestwich. A new church, to be in the early decorated style, and to cost about 7,500, was founded in 1869. There is a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Oldham library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Shaw.

Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Shaw area is Oldham.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures in an area centred on OS grid reference SD934087 (Lat/Lon: 53.574618, -2.099683) which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Shaw to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Shaw was a chapelry in the township of Crompton in the parish of Oldham.

Maps

View maps of Shaw and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD934087 (Lat/Lon: 53.574618, -2.099683), which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Shaw was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.