Shevington

Select map to view larger area
SHEVINGTON, a township in Standish parish, Lancashire; on the river Douglas and the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 1 mile NE of Gathurst r. station, and 4 NW of Wigan. Acres, 1,706. Real property, 7,742; of which 3,500 are in mines, and 330 in railways. Pop. in 1851, 1,147; in 1861, 1,615. Houses, 262. The increase of pop. arose from the working of new coal mines. S. Hall is the residence of J. Tayleur, Esq. There are a free school and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley, Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Shevington.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Shevington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Shevington area is Wigan and Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Shevington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Shevington to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Shevington was a township in the parish of Standish.

Maps

View maps of Shevington and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD542086 (Lat/Lon: 53.571987, -2.693109), Shevington which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Shevington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.