Shireshead

Select map to view larger area
SHIRESHEAD, or Shirehead, a chapelry in Garstang and Cockerham parishes, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 1¾ mile N by E of Scorton r. station, and 4 N by E of Garstang. Post town, Garstang. Pop., 397. Houses, 95. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 110. Patron, the Vicar of Cockerham. The church is modern.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Shireshead.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Shireshead area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Shireshead area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Shireshead which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Shireshead to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Shireshead was a chapelry in the township of Cleveley in the parish of Cockerham.

Maps

View maps of Shireshead and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD503509 (Lat/Lon: 53.951799, -2.758821), Shireshead which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Shireshead was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.