Silverdale

Select map to view larger area
SILVERDALE, a village and a township-chapelry in Warton parish, Lancashire. The village stands on Morecambe bay, near the Lancaster and Ulverstone railway, 4½ miles NW of Carnforth; is a sea-bathing resort; and has a r. station with telegraph, a post-office under Lancaster, a hotel, and good lodging-houses. The chapelry comprises 1,145 acres. Real property, 1,262. Pop., 294. Houses, 58. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 200.* Patron, the Vicar of Warton. The church was built in 1679, and enlarged in 1829.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Silverdale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Silverdale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Silverdale area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Silverdale which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Silverdale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Silverdale was a township in the parish of Warton.

Maps

View maps of Silverdale and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD462753 (Lat/Lon: 54.170667, -2.825628), Silverdale which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Silverdale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.