Simonswood

Select map to view larger area
SIMONSWOOD, a township in Walton-on-the-Hill parish, Lancashire; 5 miles S by E of Ormskirk. Acres, 2,862. Real property, 2,792. Pop., 461. Houses, 70.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Simonswood.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Simonswood area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Simonswood area is Knowsley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Simonswood which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Simonswood to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Simonswood was a township in the parish of Ormskirk.

Maps

View maps of Simonswood and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD432006 (Lat/Lon: 53.499009, -2.857748), Simonswood which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Simonswood was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.