Singleton
|
|
|
|
SINGLETON (Great and Little), a township-chapelry in Kirkham parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 2½ miles SE of Poulton r. station. It has a post-office, of the name of Great S., under Preston. Acres, 2,860; of which 225 are water. Real property, £4,192. Pop., 338. Houses, 57. S. Lodge and Grange Hall are chief residences. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £110. Patron, T. Miller, Esq. The church was built in 1861; and has a tower with lofty spire. There is a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Poulton le Fylde library.Cemeteries
- St Anne, Church Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Singleton.Church History
Church Records
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Singleton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Singleton area is Blackpool & Fylde.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Singleton which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Singleton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Singleton was a township in the parish of Kirkham.Maps
View maps of Singleton and places within its boundaries.A modern map showing Singleton in relation to other places in the Fylde.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD381382 (Lat/Lon: 53.836349, -2.942129), Singleton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Singleton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

