Skelmersdale
|
|
|
|
SKELMERSDALE, a village and a township-chapelry in Ormskirk parish, Lancashire. The village stands in the E neighbourhood of Blaguegate r. station, and 4½ miles ESE of Ormskirk; and gives the title of Baron to the family of Bootle-Wilbraham. The chapelry contains also Blaguegate village, which has a post-office under Ormskirk. Acres, 1,920. Real property, £5,253; of which £1,000 are in mines, and £19 in quarries. Pop. in 1851, 760; in 1861, 1,028. Houses, 196. Pop. in 1868, above 3,000. The manor belongs to Lord Skelmersdale. S. Hall is the seat of R. Thomas, Esq. Coal is worked, and bricks are made. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, £175.* Patron, the Vicar of Ormskirk. The church was built in 1796, and enlarged in 1823. There are two Wesleyan chapels, one of them built in 1866, a recently erected Roman Catholic chapel, an endowed school with £51 a year, and charities £37.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Central Library,Southway,
Skelmersdale
WN8 6NL
Tel: 01695 720312
Fax: 01695 558627
Cemeteries
- Liverpool Rd, Cemetery
- St Paul, Church Road, Church of England
- St Richard, Kerfoot's Lane, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Skelmersdale.Church History
Church Records
- St Paul, Church Road, Church of England
- Emmanuel, Sherrat Street, Church of the Nazarene
- Witham Rd, Congregational
- The Church at the Centre, Northway, Ecumenical Centre
- Bethel, School Lane, Independant Methodist
- High St, Primitive Methodist
- St Edmund, Church Road, Roman Catholic
- St Mary Queen of Apostles, Ashurst Road, Maryvale, Roman Catholic
- St Richard, Kerfoot's Lane, Roman Catholic
- Clayton Street, Welsh Chapel
- Knowle Brow, Wesleyan Methodist
- Berry St, Wesleyan Methodist, Stormy Corner
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Skelmersdale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Skelmersdale area is West Lancashire.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Skelmersdale which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Skelmersdale to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Skelmersdale was a township in the parish of Ormskirk.Maps
View maps of Skelmersdale and places within its boundaries.A map of Skelmersdale around 1845.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD479060 (Lat/Lon: 53.548030, -2.787802), Skelmersdale which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Skelmersdale was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

