Skerton
|
|
|
|
SKERTON, a suburban village and a township-chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire. The village is suburban to Lancaster; communicates with that town by a five-arched bridge, across the river Lune; and has a post-office under Lancaster, and a police station. The chapelry comprises 1,186 acres. Real property, £6,179; of which £90 are in fisheries. Pop., 1,556. Houses, 317. The property is subdivided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £100. Patrons, Trustees. The church is a neat building, with a pinnacled tower. There is an endowed school with £12 a year.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.Cemeteries
- Halton Road, Cemetery
- St Luke, Mainway, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Skerton.Church History
Church Records
- Free Grace, Lune St, Baptist
- St Chad, Torrisholme Road, Church of England
- St Luke, Mainway, Church of England
- Main St, Primitive Methodist
- Main St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Owen Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Skerton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Skerton area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Skerton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Skerton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Skerton was a township in the parish of Lancaster.Maps
View maps of Skerton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD472633 (Lat/Lon: 54.062929, -2.808210), Skerton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Skerton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

