Slyne with Hest

Select map to view larger area
SLYNE-WITH-HEST, a township in Bolton-le-Sands parish, Lancashire; on the Lancaster and Carlisle railway, 2½ miles NNW of Lancaster. It has post-offices, of the names of Slyne and Hest-Bank, under Lancaster. Acres, 1,114. Real property, 2,737. Pop., 312 Houses, 58. The manor belongs to T. Greene, Esq.; and S. House is the residence of R. G. Bradley, Esq.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Slyne with Hest.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Slyne area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Slyne with Hest area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

Information about Slyne with Hest and the surrounding area.

You can see pictures of Slyne which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Slyne with Hest to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Slyne with Hest was a township in the parish of Bolton le Sands.

Maps

View maps of Lytham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD471656 (Lat/Lon: 54.083589, -2.810140), Slyne which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Slyne with Hest was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.