Southport
|
|
|
|
SOUTHPORT, a town and three chapelries in North Meols township and parish, Lancashire. The town stands on the coast, at the termini of railways from Liverpool, Preston, and Manchester, 18½ miles N by W of Liverpool; was, in the early years of the present century, a poor hamlet, called South Hawes; came into notice, about 1830, as an attractive watering-place; grew rapidly, from that time, into a handsome town, with spacious streets and promenades; occupies a quondam sandy waste, absorbent of moisture, and now well embellished; enjoys a salubrious climate; includes a chief street 270 feet wide, perfectly straight, and nearly a mile long; publishes two newspapers; and has a head post-office, a r. station with telegraph, seventeen hotels, a pier, baths, an extensive bathing-beach, a park of 30 acres, a well constructed market house, a fish-market, a town hall, three churches, eleven dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a cemetery with three handsome chapels, four public day schools, a convalescent hospital and sea-bathing infirmary, a hydropathic hospital, and a dispensary. The pier was erected in 1860, at a cost of £10,000; and extended since, at an additional cost of £15,000; and is 4,395 feet long. The town hall was built in 1853, at a cost of about £4,500; is in the Grecian style, with a portico; and contains assembly and sessions rooms, and police court-rooms, offices, and cells. Christ Church was built in 1820, and has been much enlarged; is in the early English style, and nearly square; and has a fine tower and spire 180 feet high. Trinity church was built in 1837, and has been enlarged. St. Paul's church was built in 1864, at a cost of about £4,500: is in the decorated English style; and has a tower and spire 132 feet high. The Chapel-street Independent chapel is in the classic style, with Corinthian portico. The Lord-street Independent chapel is in the pointed style, with a fine spire. The Mornington-road Wesleyan chapel also is in the pointed style, with a lofty spire. The Trinity Wesleyan chapel was built in 1864, at a cost of about £9,000; is in the early English style, and cruciform; and has gables surmounted with carved crosses, and a lofty tower with brooch spire. Pop. of the town in 1868, about 16,500. The three chapelries are Christ-church, St. Paul, and Trinity. Pop., 5,490, 3,500, and 4,025. The livings are p. curacies in the diocese of Chester. Value of C., £678; of St. P., £300; of Trinity, £550. Patron of C., the Rev.Hesketh; of St. Paul and T., Trustees.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk library.
Tel: 0151 9342376
Fax: 0151 9342370
Cemeteries
- Duke St, Cemetery
- Christ Church, Lord St, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Manchester Road, Church of England
- Chapel St, Congregational
- Southport Road, Crematorium, Scarisbrick
- St George, Lord St, Presbyterian
- St Marie on the Sands, Seabank Rd, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Southport.Church History
Church Records
- Hoghton St, Baptist
- Scarisbrick New Road, Baptist
- Southbank Rd, Baptist
- Wright St, Catholic Apostolic
- Mornington Rd, Church of Christ
- Sussex Rd, Church of Christ
- First Church of Christ, Scientist, Lord St West, Church of Christ, Scientist
- All Saints, Park Rd, Church of England
- All Souls, Norwood Rd, Church of England
- Christ Church, Lord St, Church of England
- Emmanuel, Cambridge Rd, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Manchester Road, Church of England
- St Andrew, Eastbank St, Church of England
- St Francis of Assisi, Folkestone Rd, Church of England
- St Luke, St Luke's Rd, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's St, Church of England
- St Philip, Scarisbrick New Rd, Church of England
- St Simon and St Jude, Bispham Rd, Church of England
- St Simon and St Jude, High Park Rd, Church of England
- Canning Rd, Congregational
- Chapel St, Congregational
- Hawkshead St, Congregational
- Lord St West, Congregational
- Portland St, Congregational
- Southport Road, Crematorium, Scarisbrick
- Lakeside Christian Centre, North Promenade, Elim
- Manchester Road, Elim Pentecostal
- Kew Church, Folkestone Road, Evangelical
- Canning Rd, Evangelical Centre
- Southbank Rd, Family Life Community Church
- Old Park Lane, Gospel Hall
- High Park Rd, Independent
- Zion, St Luke's Rd, Independent
- Ebenezer, Old Park Lane, Independent Methodist
- The Fisherman's Chapel, Hawkshead St, Independent Methodist
- Arnside Road, Independent Orthodox Jewish
- Hawkshead St, Independent Spiritualist
- Sussex Rd, Jewish
- Gates of Peace Reform Synagogue, Portland St, Jewish
- Preston New Road, Latter Day Saints
- Shakespeare Centre, Shakespeare Centre, St James St, Living Faith Fellowship
- Lord St West, Methodist
- Victoria, Sussex Rd, Methodist
- Manchester Road, Methodist New Connexion
- Duke St, New Jerusalem
- Sussex Rd, Plymouth Brethren
- Calendar Hall, London St, Plymouth Brethren
- St George, Lord St, Presbyterian
- Cemetery Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Derby Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Marshside Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Newton St, Primitive Methodist
- Zion, Sussex Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Holy Family, Brompton Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Marie on the Sands, Seabank Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Patrick, Marshside Road, Roman Catholic
- Shakespeare St, Salvation Army
- Derby Rd, Shoreline Church
- Court Rd, Society of Friends
- Portland St, Society of Friends
- Pathways Spiritual Centre, Portland St, Spiritualist
- Grace, Prince's St, Strict Baptist
- Portland St, Unitarian
- Duke St, United Methodist Free Church
- High Park Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Peniel, Portland St, Welsh Presbyterian
- Brighton Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- High Park Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Leyland Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Mornington Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Southbank Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Trinity, Duke St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Southport area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Southport area is Sefton North.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Southport which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Southport to another place.Historical Geography
Southport is located in the area that used to be the townships of Birkdale and North Meols in the parish of North Meols.Maps
View maps of Southport and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD335172 (Lat/Lon: 53.647056, -3.007496), Southport which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Southport was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
- Liverpool & Southwest Lancashire Family History Society - Southport Group
- North Meols (Southport) Family History Society
- Lancashire Parish Register Society
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

