Speke

Select map to view larger area
SPEKE, a township, with a r. station, in Childwall parish, Lancashire; on the river Mersey, and on the Warrington and Liverpool railway, 7 miles SE of Liverpool. Acres, 5,492; of which 3,020 are water. Real property, 5,165. Pop., 571. Houses, 89. S. Hall is the seat of R. Watt, Esq.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Speke.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Speke area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Speke area is Liverpool.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Speke which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Speke to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Speke was a township in the parish of Childwall.

Maps

View maps of Speke and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ441830 (Lat/Lon: 53.340922, -2.841055), Speke which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Speke was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.