Spotland

Select map to view larger area
SPOTLAND, a township and a chapelry in Rochdale parish, Lancashire. The township is partly within Rochdale borough; comprises parts of the valleys of the Roach, the Spodden, the Nadin, and the Irwell; is cut into three divisions, S.-Nearer-Side, containing 2 hamlets, S.-Further-Side, containing 6 hamlets, and Whitworth, containing 4 hamlets; exhibits much picturesque scenery; carries on coal mining, slate and freestone quarrying, and extensive cotton, baize, and flannel manufacture; and has several post-offices under Rochdale, a literary institution, two churches, five dissenting chapels, the Rochdale workhouse, and some charities. Acres, 4,518. Real property, 118,074; of which 18,099 are in mines, 2,501 in quarries, and 93 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 23,476; in 1861, 30,378. Houses, 5,994. The chief villages are Whitworth, Bridge-Mill, Shawforth, Facit, Bagslate, Blackpits, and Shawclough; and the old-seats are Oakenrod, Chadwick, Greave, and Wolstenholm, the last now a farmhouse. The chapelry comprises the tract around Spotland-Bridge; was constituted in 1844, and curtailed prior to 1868; and has a post-office, of the name of S.-Bridge, under Rochdale. Pop. in 1861, within the original limits, 11,016; within the curtailed limits, 8,354. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 500. Patron, the Vicar of Rochdale. The church is ancient.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Whitworth library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Spotland.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Spotland area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Spotland area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Spotland which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Spotland to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Spotland was a township in the parish of Rochdale.

History

A description of Spotland in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Spotland and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD887136 (Lat/Lon: 53.618813, -2.172309), Spotland which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Spotland was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.