Spotland
|
|
|
|
SPOTLAND, a township and a chapelry in Rochdale parish, Lancashire. The township is partly within Rochdale borough; comprises parts of the valleys of the Roach, the Spodden, the Nadin, and the Irwell; is cut into three divisions, S.-Nearer-Side, containing 2 hamlets, S.-Further-Side, containing 6 hamlets, and Whitworth, containing 4 hamlets; exhibits much picturesque scenery; carries on coal mining, slate and freestone quarrying, and extensive cotton, baize, and flannel manufacture; and has several post-offices under Rochdale, a literary institution, two churches, five dissenting chapels, the Rochdale workhouse, and some charities. Acres, 4,518. Real property, £118,074; of which £18,099 are in mines, £2,501 in quarries, and £93 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 23,476; in 1861, 30,378. Houses, 5,994. The chief villages are Whitworth, Bridge-Mill, Shawforth, Facit, Bagslate, Blackpits, and Shawclough; and the old-seats are Oakenrod, Chadwick, Greave, and Wolstenholm, the last now a farmhouse. The chapelry comprises the tract around Spotland-Bridge; was constituted in 1844, and curtailed prior to 1868; and has a post-office, of the name of S.-Bridge, under Rochdale. Pop. in 1861, within the original limits, 11,016; within the curtailed limits, 8,354. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £500. Patron, the Vicar of Rochdale. The church is ancient.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Whitworth library.Cemeteries
- Christ Church, Gandy Lane, Church of England, Healey
- St Paul, Edenfield Rd, Church of England, Norden
- St Clement, Willbutts La, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Spotland.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Gandy Lane, Church of England, Healey
- St Paul, Edenfield Rd, Church of England, Norden
- St Clement, Willbutts La, Church of England
- Forsyth St, Congregational, Norden
- Rooley Moor Rd, Methodist, Catley Lane Head
- Edenfield Rd, Methodist, Norden
- Hallfold, Presbyterian
- Zion, Rudman St, Primitive Methodist, Shawclough
- St Vincent de Paul, Caldershaw Road, Roman Catholic, Norden
- St Vincent de Paul, Edenfield Rd, Roman Catholic
- Cutgate Methodist, Edenfield Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Rochdale
- Shawclough Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Shawclough
- Rooley Moor Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Spotland Fold
- Syke Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Syke
- Wesleyan Methodist, Bagslate
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Spotland area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

