St. Michaels on Wyre

Select map to view larger area
MICHAEL-ON-WYRE (ST.), a village and sub-district in Garstang district, and a parish partly also in Fylde and Preston districts, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Wyre, 3 miles W by N of Brock r. station, and 3½ SW of Garstang; is in the township of Upper Rawcliffewith-Tarnacre; and has a n eat stone bridge over the river. The sub-district comprises the St. Michael townships of Out-Rawcliffe, Upper-Rawcliffe-with-Tarnacre, Great Eccleston, and Inskip-with-Sowerby, the Lancaster township of Myerscough, and the Garstang township of Bilsborrow. Acres, 15,965. Pop., 3,359. Houses, 638. The parish, in addition to its four townships in the sub-district, contains the townships of Elswick and Wood-Plumpton. Post town, Garstang, Lancashire. Acres, 18,114; of which 180 are water. Real property, 29,570. Pop. in 1851, 4,680; in 1861, 4,509. Houses, 879. The property is much subdivided. The manors of Upper Rawcliffe and Inskip belong to the Earl of Derby; that of Out-Rawcliffe belongs to the representatives of the late R. W. France, Esq.; and that of Wood-Plumpton belongs to Birley, Esq. Rush cutting is largely carried on in Great Eccleston; and tiles and drain-pipes are extensively made in Wood-Plumpton. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 580.* Patron, the Rev. W. Hornby. The church is of the time of Henry VIII.; succeeded an ancient one, supposed to have been built about 640; comprises nave and aisles, with battlemented tower; and includes a N oratory, formerly the mortuary chapel of the Butler family. The chapelries of Cop or Great Eccleston, Out-Rawcliffe, Inskip, and Wood-Plumpton are separate benefices. There are, in the several townships, a Baptist chapel, three Wesleyan chapels, two Primitive Methodist chapels, two Roman Catholic chapels, two endowed schools and three national schools. There are also, in Wood-Plumpton, a police station and a small workhouse.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for St Michaels.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Michaels-on-Wyre area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the St. Michaels on Wyre area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of St Michaels-on-Wyre which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from St. Michaels on Wyre to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of St Michaels contained the townships of Out Rawcliffe, Upper Rawcliffe, Elswick, Great Eccleston, Inskip with Sowerby, Newsham and Woodplumpton.

Maps

View maps of St Michaels-on-Wyre and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD462410 (Lat/Lon: 53.862416, -2.819547), St Michaels-on-Wyre which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, St. Michaels on Wyre was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.