Stalmine

Select map to view larger area
STALMINE, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, in Garstang district, Lancashire. The township lies 4 miles NNE of Poulton-le-Fylde r. station; and bears the name of Stalmine-with-Stainall. Acres, 2,138. Real property, 3,421. Pop., 471. Houses, 95. The manor, with S. Hall, belongs to Bourne, Esq. The chapelry includes also Preesall-with-Hackinsall township, and is in Lancaster parish. Post town, Fleetwood, under Preston. Acres, 5,998. Pop., 1,283. Houses, 275. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 340. Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church was rebuilt in 1806. The sub-district contains also Pilling township and Hambleton chapelry. Acres, 15,618. Pop., 3,037. Houses, 597.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Fleetwood library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Stalmine with Stainall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stalmine area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Stalmine area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Stalmine which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Stalmine to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Stalmine with Staynall was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Maps

View maps of Stalmine and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD373454 (Lat/Lon: 53.900958, -2.955758), Stalmine which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Stalmine was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.