Stalybridge

Select map to view larger area
Stalybridge (or Staleybridge), parl. and mun. bor., and manufacturing town, Stockport and Mottram in Longden Dale pars., Cheshire, and Ashton under Lyne par., Lancashire, on river Tame, 7½ miles E. of Manchester by rail - mun. bor., pop. 25,977; parl. bor., 2214 ac., pop. 42,863; 2 Banks, 2 newspapers. Market-day, Saturday. Stalybridge is said to derive its name from the Staveleighs, who formerly resided here; but the town is entirely modern, dating from the year 1776. It has communication in all directions by railway. The principal mfrs. are the spinning of cotton yarns and the weaving of calicoes, but there are also numerous iron foundries and machine shops. Stalybridge was made a mun. bor. in 1857, and a parl. bor. in 1867; its municipal limits were extended in 1881, and its parliamentary limits in 1885. It returns 1 member to Parl.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887

Archives and libraries

Local studies information previously housed at Stalybridge is now held in the new Local Studies and Archives Centre at Tameside Central Library in Ashton. They have made available a summary of the records, and finding aids that they hold.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Stalybridge.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stalybridge area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Stalybridge area is Tameside.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Stalybridge which are provided by:

Directories

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Stalybridge to another place.

Historical Geography

A parish (SJ 9798) created in 1894 out of Stayley and part of Dukinfield (in Cheshire) and part of Ashton under Lyne (in Lancashire). Transferred to the county of Greater Manchester in 1974. Please also see the Stalybridge, Cheshire pages.

History

A description of Stalybridge in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Stalybridge and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ960987 (Lat/Lon: 53.484992, -2.061755), Stalybridge which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Stalybridge was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.