GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Stalybridge

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Civil Registration
Select map to view larger area
Directories
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
History
Maps
Probate Records

Archives and libraries

Local studies information previously housed at Stalybridge is now held in the new Local Studies and Archives Centre at Tameside Central Library in Ashton. They have made available a summary of the records, and finding aids that they hold.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Stalybridge.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stalybridge area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Stalybridge area is Tameside.

Directories

Stalybridge Trade Directory 1825

Staly-Bridge 1832 extracted from Manchester & Salford Trade Directory 1832 by Gay Oliver.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Stalybridge to another place.

Historical Geography

A parish (SJ 9798) created in 1894 out of Stayley and part of Dukinfield (in Cheshire) and part of Ashton under Lyne (in Lancashire). Transferred to the county of Greater Manchester in 1974. Please also see the Stalybridge, Cheshire pages.

History

A description of Stalybridge in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Stalybridge and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Stalybridge was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:35:14 BST - Phil Stringer]