Stand

Select map for larger scale
STAND, or Whitefield, a chapelry, with a village, in Pilkington township, Prestwich parish, Lancashire; 1½ mile SE of Radcliffe r. station, and 5½ NNW of Manchester. It was constituted in 1829; and it has a post-office under Manchester. Pop. in 1861, 8,958. Houses, 1,824. There are many good residences. Cotton manufacture, and employments akin to it, are largely carried on. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 270.* Patron, the Earl of Wilton. The church was built in 1826, at a cost of 15,000; is in the pointed style; and has a pinnacled tower, 186 feet high. There are four dissenting chapels, an endowed grammar-school, and a large national school, the last used as a chapel of ease.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Stand.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stand area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Stand area is Bury.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Stand which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Stand to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Stand was a chapelry in the township of Pilkington, in the parish of Prestwich.

History

A description of Stand in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Stand and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD793057 (Lat/Lon: 53.547516, -2.313888), Stand which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Stand was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.