Stand
|
|
|
|
STAND, or Whitefield, a chapelry, with a village, in Pilkington township, Prestwich parish, Lancashire; 1½ mile SE of Radcliffe r. station, and 5½ NNW of Manchester. It was constituted in 1829; and it has a post-office under Manchester. Pop. in 1861, 8,958. Houses, 1,824. There are many good residences. Cotton manufacture, and employments akin to it, are largely carried on. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £270.* Patron, the Earl of Wilton. The church was built in 1826, at a cost of £15,000; is in the pointed style; and has a pinnacled tower, 186 feet high. There are four dissenting chapels, an endowed grammar-school, and a large national school, the last used as a chapel of ease.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- All Saints, Church Lane, Whitefield, Church of England
- Ringley Rd, Unitarian
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Stand.Church History
Church Records
- All Saints, Church Lane, Whitefield, Church of England
- Ringley Rd, Unitarian
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stand area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

