Standish

Select map to view larger area
STANDISH, a village, a township, and a sub-district, in Wigan district, and a parish partly also in Chorley district, Lancashire. The village stands near the North-western railway, 3½ miles NNW of Wigan; and has a station on the railway, a post-office under Wigan, and fairs on 29 June and 22 Nov. The township bears the name of S.-with-Langtree, and comprises 3,257 acres. Real property, 15,788; of which 6,700 are in mines. Pop. in 1861, 2,655; in 1861, 3,054. Houses, 579. The manor has belonged, since soon after the Norman conquest, to the Standish family; and once had a castle. There are extensive coal mines, a large paper-mill, and barytes works. The sub-district contains also two other townships of S. parish, and two of Eccleston; and comprises 10,661 acres. Pop., 6,894. Houses, 1,259. The parish includes seven townships of Chorley district; and comprises 15,285 acres. Pop. in 1851, 8,594; in 1861, 10,410. Houses, 1,900. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 1,874.* Patron, H. Standish, Esq. The church was built in 1584, and restored in 1859; and has a fine E window, and a tower and spire. The p. curacies of Adlington, Coppull, and Charnock-Richard are separate benefices. There are an endowed grammar-school with 114 a year, an endowed school for girls with 53, and charities 402.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley, Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Standish with Langtree .

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Standish area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Standish area is Wigan and Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Standish which are provided by:

Directories

"STANDISH is a township, parish and village, in the hundred and deanery of Leyland, and in the archdeaconry of Chester, three miles N.N.W. of Wigan. The parish Church of St. Wilfred is rather a handsome structure, of the Tuscan order, erected about 1584, by the Rev. Richard Moodie, a converted Franciscan monk, and the first protestant rector of this church. The rectory is now in the patronage of Chas. Standish, Esq. The free grammar school here was founded at the beginning of the 17th century, it's endowment being about 90. per annum. Fairs are held on the 29th of June and the 22nd of November, for horses, horned cattle and toys. This parish contains ten townships, including a chapelry, and, in 1821, a population of 7,616 persons; of which number upwards of 2,000 were in Standish-with-Langtree. "

Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the county of Lancashire - Pigot & Co. 1828

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Standish to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Standish contained the townships of Standish and Langtree, Charnock Richard, Welch Whittle, Duxbury, Coppull, Heath Charnock, Shevington, Anderton, Adlington and Worthington.

Maps

View maps of Standish and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD563101 (Lat/Lon: 53.585648, -2.661609), Standish which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Standish was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.