Staveley

This is Staveley in Cartmel. There is also another Staveley not too far away in Westmorland.

Select map to view larger area
STAVELEY, a township-chapelry in Cartmel parish, Lancashire: at the foot of Windermere, 7 miles N of Cark and Cartmel r. station. It includes part of Newby-Bridge, which has a post-office under Newton-in-Cartmel. Acres, 2,480. Real property, 3,621. Pop., 409. Houses, 76. The manor belongs to the Duke of Devonshire. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 110.* Patron, the Duke of Devonshire. The church was enlarged in 1864. There are two endowed schools for respectively boys and girls.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Staveley in Cartmel.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Staveley-in-Cartmel area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Staveley area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Staveley-in-Cartmel which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Staveley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Staveley was a township in the parish of Cartmel.

Maps

View maps of Staveley-in-Cartmell and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD379861 (Lat/Lon: 54.266780, -2.954989), Staveley-in-Cartmel which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Staveley was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.