Stretford
|
|
|
|
STRETFORD, a township, a chapelry, and a sub-district, on the S border of Lancashire. The township lies on the Manchester and Altrincham railway, 4 miles SW of Manchester; is in Manchester parish; includes Old Trafford chapelry; contains many handsome villa residences, a public hall, a temperance institute, the Manchester botanic garden, the asylum for the blind, the school for the deaf and dumb, two churches, five dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel of 1864, and a large national school; and has a r. station with telegraph, and a post-office, designated Stretford, Lancashire. Acres, 3,140. Real property, £42,938; of which £500 are in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 4,998; in 1861, 8,757. Houses, 1,668. The chapelry was constituted in 1854. Pop., 3,882. Houses, 791. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £405.* Patrons, the Dean and Chapter of M. The church was rebuilt in 1841. The sub-district comprises S. township and Flixton parish, and is in Barton-upon-Irwell district. Acres, 5,689. Pop., 10,807. Houses, 2,077.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Trafford Local studies library.Cemeteries
- Lime Rd, Cemetery
- St Thomas, Stretford Rd, Church of England, Old Trafford
- St Matthew, Chester Road, Church of England
- Barton Road, Independent Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Stretford.Church History
Church Records
- Union Chapel, Edge Lane, Baptist
- The Bethel, Henrietta St, Christadelphian, Old Trafford
- Gospel Hall, Derbyshire Lane, Christian Brethren
- Barton Road, Christian Life Centre
- St Francis, Edge Lane, Christian Spiritualist
- St Peter, Gorse Hill, Church of England, Firswood
- St Bride, Blair St, off Shrewsbury Street, Church of England, Old Trafford
- St Cuthbert, Third Avenue, Church of England, Old Trafford
- St Hilda, Warwick Road South, Church of England, Old Trafford
- St John the Evangelist, Ayres Road, Church of England, Old Trafford
- St Thomas, Stretford Rd, Church of England, Old Trafford
- All Saints, Barton Road, Church of England
- All Saints, Cyprus St, Church of England
- St Matthew, Chester Road, Church of England
- Chorlton Road, Congregational, Old Trafford
- Chester Road, Congregational
- Edge Lane, Exclusive Brethren
- Barton Road, Independent Methodist
- Chester Rd, Latter Day Saints
- Park Rd, Martin Luther Kirche
- Sevenways, Derbyshire Lane, Methodist
- Jame Masjid-e-Noor Mosque, Stamford St, Muslim, Old Trafford
- St Bartholomew, Barton Rd, Lostock, Presbyterian, Davyhulme
- Third Avenue, Primitive Methodist, Old Trafford
- Bethel, Henrietta St, Primitive Methodist, Old Trafford
- Chorley St, Primitive Methodist
- King Street, Primitive Methodist
- St Alphonsus, Powell Street, Roman Catholic, Old Trafford
- St Lawrence, Malvern Street, Roman Catholic, Old Trafford
- St Ann, Chester Road, Roman Catholic
- St Hugh of Lincoln, Glastonbury Road, Roman Catholic
- St Teresa, Bedford Road, Roman Catholic
- St Antony of Padua, Eleventh Street, Roman Catholic, Trafford Park
- Brunswick St, Salvation Army
- Moss Side, Shewsbury Street, Unitarian, Old Trafford
- City Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Old Trafford
- Edge Lane formerly Chester Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Gorse Hill Wesleyan Methodist Church, Chester Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Union Chapel, Edge Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Stretford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Stretford area is Trafford.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Stretford which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Stretford to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Stretford was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Stretford in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Stretford and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ790946 (Lat/Lon: 53.447733, -2.317669), Stretford which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Stretford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

