Subberthwaite

Select map to view larger area
SUBBERTHWAITE, a township in Ulverstone parish, Lancashire; 6 miles NNW of Ulverstone. Acres, 1,246. Real property, 764. Pop., 152. Houses, 29.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Subberthwaite.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Subberthwaite area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Subberthwaite area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Subberthwaite which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Subberthwaite to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Subberthwaite was a township in the parish of Ulverston.

Maps

View maps of Subberthwaite and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD267864 (Lat/Lon: 54.267991, -3.126994), Subberthwaite which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Subberthwaite was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.