Sutton
|
|
|
|
SUTTON, a township and a chapelry in Prescot parish, Lancashire. The township lies around Sutton-Oak, Lea-Green, and St. Helens Junction r. stations, 2½ miles S of St. Helens; and has a post-office under St. Helens. Acres, 3,616. Real property, £44,146; of which £9,147 are in mines, £170 in canals, £2,640 in railways, and £1,601 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 5,288; in 1861, 9,223. Houses, 1,588. There are numerous good residences. Coal, ironstone, limestone, and potters' clay are worked; and there are glass-works, bottle-works, cobalt and zaffer-works, copper-smelting-works, earthen-ware works, drain-pipe works, grease and varnish-works, an oil-refinery, and watch-movement manufactures. A county lunatic asylum also is here. The chapelry includes only part of the township, and was constituted in 1848. Pop. in 1861, 4,071. Houses, 755. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, £716. Patron, Kings College, Cambridge. The church is in the pointed style. There are a Wesleyan chapel and national schools.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at St Helens library.Cemeteries
- St Nicholas, New Street, Church of England
- St Anne and Blessed Dominic, Monastery Rd, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Sutton.Church History
Church Records
- All Saints, Ellamsbridge Road, Church of England
- St Michael and All Angels, Gartons Lane, Sutton Manor, Church of England
- St Nicholas, New Street, Church of England
- Emmanuel, Elephant Lane, Church of England, Thatto Heath
- St Matthew, St Matthew's Grove, Church of England, Thatto Heath
- Zion, West St, Independant Methodist, Thatto Heath
- Sutton Village Church, Herbert St, Independent Methodist
- New Street, Methodist
- St Joseph, Sutton Rd, Roman Catholic, Peasley Cross
- St Anne and Blessed Dominic, Monastery Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Theresa of the Child Jesus, Gartons Lane, Sutton Manor, Roman Catholic
- St Austin, Heath St, Roman Catholic, Thatto Heath
- Clock Face Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Marshall's Cross
- Sutton Oak, Sutton Rd, Welsh Chapel
- Sutton Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Balmer St, Wesleyan Methodist, Thatto Heath
- Nutgrove Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Thatto Heath
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Sutton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Sutton area is St Helens.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Sutton which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Sutton to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Sutton was a township in the parish of Prescot.Maps
View maps of Sutton and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ536935 (Lat/Lon: 53.436217, -2.699930), Sutton which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Sutton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

