Swinton

Select map to view larger area
SWINTON, a chapelry, with a village, in Eccles parish, Lancashire; near Patricroft r. station, 4½ mile WNW of Manchester. It has a post-office under Manchester. Pop., about 6,000. There are several good residences. Cotton manufacture and brick-making are carried on. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 230.* Patron, the Vicar of Eccles. The church is plain. There are Wesleyan chapels, a national school, and the Manchester industrial schools.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Salford library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Swinton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Swinton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Swinton area is Salford.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Swinton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Swinton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Swinton was a chapelry in the township of Worsley in the parish of Eccles.

History

A description of Swinton in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Swinton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD776013 (Lat/Lon: 53.507897, -2.339228), Swinton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Swinton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.