Tatham
|
|
|
|
TATHAM, a parish in Lancaster district, Lancashire; 1 mile SE of Wennington r. station, and 4½ E of Hornby. It includes Tatham-Fell chapelry, and its Post town is Wray under Lancaster. Acres, 8,501. Real property, £5,519. Pop., 588. Houses, 115. The property is much subdivided. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £300. Patron, J. Foster, Esq. The church is later English.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.Cemeteries
- St James the Less, Monks Gate, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Tatham.Church History
Church Records
- St James the Less, Monks Gate, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tatham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The registers of the parish church, St James the Less, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.
- Volume 59 - Bap & Mar 1558-1812, Bur 1558-1811.
- Volume 78 - Bap, Mar & Bur 1813-1837.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Tatham area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Tatham which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tatham to another place.Maps
View maps of Tatham and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD606693 (Lat/Lon: 54.118054, -2.604273), Tatham which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tatham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

