Tatham Fell
|
|
|
|
TATHAM-FELL, a chapelry, with Lowgill village, in Tatham parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles S by W of High Bentham r. station, and 5 ESE of Hornby. Post town, Wray, under Lancaster. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £125. Patron, the Rector of Tatham. The church was built in 1745. There is a parochial school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.Cemeteries
- The Good Shepherd, Church of England, Tatham Fell
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Tatham Fell.Church History
Church Records
- The Good Shepherd, Church of England, Tatham Fell
- Lowgill Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Lowgill
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tatham Fells area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The registers of the parish church, The Good Shepherd, have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society as follows.
- Volume 78 - Mar 1746-1754, Bap & Bur 1745-1837.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Tatham Fell area is Lancaster.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Tatham Fells which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tatham Fell to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Tatham Fell was a chapelry in the parish of Tatham.Maps
View maps of Tatham Fell and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD672638 (Lat/Lon: 54.069088, -2.502707), Tatham Fells which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tatham Fells was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

