Thornton

Select map to view larger area
THORNTON, a chapelry and a township in Poulton-le-Fylde parish, Lancashire. The chapelry adjoins Fleetwood town and r. station, and has a post-office under Preston. Pop., 826. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 105. Patrons, Trustees. The church was built in 1835. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a free school. The township includes Fleetwood, and is noticed in our article on that town.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Poulton library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Thornton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Thornton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Thornton area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Thornton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Thornton to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Thornton was a township in the parish of Poulton le Fylde.

History

Maps

View maps of Thornton and places within its boundaries.

A modern map showing Thornton in relation to other places in the Fylde.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD340421 (Lat/Lon: 53.870892, -3.005263), Thornton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Thornton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.