Thurnham

Select map to view larger area
THURNHAM, a township in Lancaster and Cockerham parishes, Lancashire; 4½ miles SSW of Lancaster. Acres, 1,219. Real property, 3,345. Pop., 717. Houses, 121. Much of the land belongs to Sir J. Fitzgerald, Bart. T. Hall is an ancient mansion. There are a handsome Roman Catholic chapel and an endowed school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Thurnham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Thurnham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Thurnham area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Thurnham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Thurnham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Thurnham was a township in the parish of Cockerham.

Maps

View maps of Thurnham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD465543 (Lat/Lon: 53.981975, -2.817317), Thurnham which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Thurnham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.