Torver

Select map to view larger area
TORVER, a township-chapelry in Ulverston parish, Lancashire; on the Coniston railway, 2 miles SW of Coniston. It has a post-office under Windermere, and a r. station. Acres, 3,670. Real property, £1,180. Pop., 194. Houses, 42. The manor belongs to the Queen. The scenery is highly picturesque. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £113. Patron, the Rev. A. Peache. The church was rebuilt in 1848. There are an endowed school with £8 a year, and charities £7.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Torver and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Torver.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Torver area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Torver area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Torver which are provided by:

Directories

Residents in 1882 found in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Torver to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Torver was a chapelry and a township in the parish of Ulverston.

History

The history of Torver as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.

Maps

View maps of Torver and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD285943 (Lat/Lon: 54.339233, -3.101255), Torver which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Torver was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.