Tottington Lower End
|
|
|
|
TOTTINGTON-LOWER-END, a township in Bury parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles NNW of Bury r. station. It contains Tottington and Holcombe chapelries, and is from 4 to 6 miles long. Acres, 5,038. Real property, £34,454; of which £75 are in quarries, and £200 in mines. Pop. in 1851, 10,691; in 1861, 11,764. Houses, 2,268. See Tottington and Holcombe.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bury library.Cemeteries
- St Mary, Bolton Road, Church of England, Hawkshaw
- St Ann, Chapel Street, Church of England, Tottington
- Christ Church (The Jesse Haworth Memorial Church), High Street, Church of England, Walshaw
- Holcombe Rd, Congregational, Greenmount
- St John, Kirklees St, Free Church of England, Tottington
- Ebenezer, Watling St, Independent, Affetside
- Bolton Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Hawkshaw
- Market St, Wesleyan Methodist, Tottington
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Tottington.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary, Bolton Road, Church of England, Hawkshaw
- St Ann, Chapel Street, Church of England, Tottington
- Christ Church (The Jesse Haworth Memorial Church), High Street, Church of England, Walshaw
- St James, Walshaw Road, Church of England, Woolfold
- Holcombe Rd, Congregational, Greenmount
- St John, Kirklees St, Free Church of England, Tottington
- Ebenezer, Watling St, Independent, Affetside
- Dundee Lane, Presbyterian, Ramsbottom
- St Hilda, Turton Road, Roman Catholic, Tottington
- Bolton Road, United Methodist Free Church, Hawkshaw
- Bolton Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Hawkshaw
- Market St, Wesleyan Methodist, Tottington
- Walshaw Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Walshaw
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tottington Lower End area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Tottington area is Bury.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Tottington Lower End which are provided by:
Directories
David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tottington to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Tottington Lower End was a township in the parish of Bury.History
A description of Tottington Lower End in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Tottington and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD770134 (Lat/Lon: 53.616630, -2.349169), Tottington Lower End which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tottington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

