Tottington Higher End

Select map to view larger area
TOTTINGTON-HIGHER-END, a township in Bury parish, Lancashire; on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, 3 miles S of Haslingden. It contains the r. stations of Stubbins and Erwood-Bridge, the village of Edenfield, and several hamlets. Acres, 3,686. Real property, 13,330; of which 422 are in quarries, and 24 in mines. Pop. in 1851, 2,958; in 1861, 3,726. Houses, 699. There are a large factory, print-works, a paper-mill, and a Primitive Methodist chapel.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Bury library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Tottington Higher End.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tottington Higher End area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Tottington Higher End area is Hyndburn & Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Tottington Higher End which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tottington Higher End to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Tottington Higher End was a township in the parish of Bury.

History

A description of Tottington Higher End in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Tottington Higher End and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD789196 (Lat/Lon: 53.672438, -2.320870), Tottington Higher End which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tottington Higher End was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.