Trawden
|
|
|
|
TRAWDEN, a village, a township, and a chapelry, in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The village stands 2¼ miles ESE of Colne r. station, and has a post-office under Colne. The township includes Winewall hamlet; and comprises 2,510 acres. Real property, £6,687. Pop. in 1851, 2,601. in 1861, 2,087. Houses, 426. The decrease of pop. was caused by scarcity of employment for hand-loom weavers. The property is much subdivided T. House is the seat of Mrs. Pilling. The chapelry was constituted in 1845, and is less extensive than the township. Pop., 1,516. Houses, 309. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150. Patron, alternately the Crown and the Bishop. The church was built in 1845. There are three dissenting chapels, and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Colne library.Cemeteries
- St Mary the Virgin, Burnley Rd, Church of England
- New Lane, Inghamite, Winewall
- Ridge Colne, Primitive Methodist
- Bethel, Colne Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Mire Ridge, Society of Friends
- Skipton Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Trawden.Church History
Church Records
- St Mary the Virgin, Burnley Rd, Church of England
- Zion, Lane House Lane, Independent Methodist
- New Lane, Inghamite, Winewall
- Ridge Colne, Primitive Methodist
- Bethel, Colne Rd, Primitive Methodist
- St Ursula, Winewall Lane, Roman Catholic, Cotton Tree
- Mire Ridge, Society of Friends
- Skipton Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Trawden area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Trawden area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Trawden which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Trawden to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Trawden was a township in the parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Trawden and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD911387 (Lat/Lon: 53.844464, -2.136757), Trawden which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Trawden was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

