Tunstall

Select map to view larger area
Tunstal, par. and township, N. Lancashire, near the confluence of the Lune and the Greta, 3 miles S. of Kirkby Lonsdale - par., 9360 ac., pop. 693; township, 1076 ac., pop. 104; P.O.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Bibliography

The following books contain useful information about the history of Tunstall and the surrounding area.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Tunstall.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tunstall area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Tunstall area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Tunstall which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tunstall to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Tunstall contained the townships of Tunstall, Burrow with Burrow, Leck, and Cantsfield.

Maps

View maps of Tunstall and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD607736 (Lat/Lon: 54.156706, -2.603305), Tunstall which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tunstall was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.