Tyldesley with Shakerley
|
|
|
|
TYLDESLEY, a town, and a township-chapelry, in Leigh parish, Lancashire. The town stands on the Manchester and Wigan railway, at the intersection of the line from Kenyon to Bolton, 2½ miles ENE of Leigh; and has a post-office under Manchester, a r. station, several inns, a temperance and education hall, a church of 1825 with tower and spire, four dissenting chapels, national schools, and extensive cotton mills. Pop. in 1861, 3,950. Houses, 815. The chapelry includes Shackerley hamlet, and is called T.-with-Shackerley. Acres, 2,474. Real property, £21,620; of which £5,358 are in mines, and £45 in gasworks. Pop. in 1851, 5,397; in 1861, 6,029. Houses, 1,254. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £180.* Patron, Lord Lilford.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- Hough Lane, Cemetery
- St George, Elliott Street, Church of England
- The Square, Elliott St, Lady Huntingdons Connexion
- Lower Elliott St, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Tyldesley with Shakerley.Church History
Church Records
- St John, Mosley Common Road, Church of England, Mosley Common
- St George, Elliott Street, Church of England
- High Street, Congregational
- Primrose St North, Independent Methodist
- The Square, Elliott St, Lady Huntingdons Connexion
- Shuttle St, New Jerusalem
- Top Chapel, The Square, Elliott St, Pentecostal
- City Rd, New Manchester, Primitive Methodist, Mosley Common
- Elliott Street, Primitive Methodist
- Shuttle St, Primitive Methodist
- Shuttle St, Welsh Baptist
- Milk St, Welsh Presbyterian
- Lower Elliott St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tyldesley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Tyldesley with Shakerley area is Wigan and Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Bongs which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Tyldesley with Shakerley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Tyldesley with Shakerley was a township in the parish of Leigh.Maps
View maps of Tyldesley and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD699017 (Lat/Lon: 53.511107, -2.455365), Bongs which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Tyldesley with Shakerley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
Tyldesley and District Historical Society.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

