Ulverston

Select map to view larger area
ULVERSTON - popularly Ooston - a town, a township, a parish, a sub-district, and a district, in Lancashire. The town stands on the Furness railway, near the influx of the river Leven to Morecambe bay, 5 miles NE of Dalton-in-Furness; belonged to the Saxon magnate Ulph or Ulpha; was given, by King Stephen, to Furness abbey; superseded Dalton, after the dissolution of monasteries, as practically the capital of Furness; is now a seat of petty sessions and county courts, and a polling place; publishes two weekly newspapers; carries on brewing, iron-founding, the manufacture of linens, checks, ginghams, and wood-hoops, and a considerable coasting trade; presents a modern, well built, cleanly appearance, with streets branching from a market place; and has a head post-office, a r. station with telegraph, two banking offices, two hotels, a court-house, a police station, a concert-hall built in 1850, a temperance hall, an iron market-cross of 1821, a parochial church restored in 1864, another church built in 1832, three dissenting chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a subscription library, a people's library, an endowed school with 31 a year, two proprietary schools, a national school, a workhouse, charities 56, a weekly market on Thursday, five annual fairs, and races or flan-sports in Aug. Pop. in 1851, 6,433; in 1861, 6,630. Houses, 1,348. more ...

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ulverston.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ulverston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ulverston area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ulverston which are provided by:

Directories

Ulverston parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ulverston to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Ulverston contained the townships of Ulverston, Church Coniston, Torver, Blawith, Subberthwaite, Lowick, Egton cum Newland, Mansriggs and Osmotherley.

History

The history of Ulverston as described in Mannex's directory of Furness and Cartmel, 1882.

Maps

View maps of Ulverston and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD286784 (Lat/Lon: 54.196373, -3.095920), Ulverston which are provided by:

Merchant Marine

Poor Houses, Poor Law

The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Ulverston workhouse.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ulverston was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

The Ulverston Heritage Centre is a charitable organisation, dedicated to the preservation, restoration and public use of a wide range of artefacts, documents and pictures.

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.