Unsworth
|
|
|
|
UNSWORTH, a chapelry, with three hamlets, in Prestwich parish, Lancashire; 2½ miles SSE of Bury r. station. It has a post-office under Bury, and a fair on the last Monday of July. Pop., about 2,000. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £200. Patron, the Rector of Prestwich. The church was rebuilt in 1842. There are three dissenting chapels, and an endowed school with £20 a year.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
- St George, Hollins Lane, Church of England
- Hillock Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Hollins Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Unsworth.Church History
Church Records
- St George, Hollins Lane, Church of England
- Parr Lane, Primitive Methodist
- Hillock Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Hollins Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Unsworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Unsworth area is Bury.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Unsworth which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Unsworth to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Unsworth was a chapelry in the parish of Prestwich.History
A description of Unsworth in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Unsworth and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD817071 (Lat/Lon: 53.560190, -2.277749), Unsworth which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Unsworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

