Upper Allithwaite

Select map to view larger area
ALLITHWAITE, two townships and a chapelry in Cartmel parish, Lancashire. The townships are Lower and Upper, and lie near Cark r. station. Acres, 2,360 and 3,710. Real property, 5,142 and 3,123. Pop., 933 and 729. Houses, 190 and 162. The chapelry was formed in 1865. Pop., 480. The living is a p. curacy. Value, 150. Patron, the Bishop of Carlisle

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Upper Allithwaite.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Upper Allithwaite area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Upper Allithwaite area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Upper Allithwaite which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Upper Allithwaite to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Upper Allithwaite was a township in the parish of Cartmel.

Maps

View maps of Upper Allithwaite and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD416834 (Lat/Lon: 54.242953, -2.897660), Upper Allithwaite which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Upper Allithwaite was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.