Upper Holker

Select map to view larger area
HOLKER (UPPER), a township in Cartmel parish, Lancashire; containing the chief part of Cartmel town; containing also Beckside hamlet; and extending northward to the river Leven. Acres, 6, 550. Real property, 5,726; of which 65 are in fisheries. Pop. in 1851, 1,134; in 1861, 1,035. Houses, 199. The decrease of pop. was caused by diminished employment in a reconstructed cotton mill, which required fewer hands than a previous one destroyed by fire. The manor belongs to the Duke of Devonshire. Gunpowder mills are at Low Wood. A charitable fund in this township arose from the purchase of five acres of land with 185½ guineas, found in the pocket of a travelling beggar, who died in a lodging house here in 1799.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow and at Kendal library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Upper Holker.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Upper Holker area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Upper Holker area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Upper Holker which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Upper Holker to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Upper Holker was a township in the parish of Cartmel.

Maps

View maps of Upper Holker and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD349809 (Lat/Lon: 54.219678, -2.999913), Upper Holker which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Upper Holker was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.