Upper Rawcliffe with Tarnacre

Select map to view larger area
RAWCLIFFE (Upper)-WITH-TARNACRE, a town-ship, with a village, in St. Michael-on-Wyre parish, Lancashire; on the river Wyre, 3¾ miles S W of Garstang. Acres, 3,743. Real property, 5,233. Pop., 682. Houses, 117. The property is divided chiefly among five. The manor belongs to the Earl of Derby. The parish church and a national school are here.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Upper Rawcliffe with Tarnacre.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Upper Rawcliffe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Upper Rawcliffe area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Upper Rawcliffe which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Upper Rawcliffe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Upper Rawcliffe was a township in the parish of StMichaels.

History

Maps

View maps of Upper Rawcliffe and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD439419 (Lat/Lon: 53.870261, -2.854680), Upper Rawcliffe which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Upper Rawcliffe was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.