Urswick
|
|
|
|
URSWICK, a parish, with four townships, in Ulverston district, Lancashire; 3 miles SSW of Ulverston r. station. Post town, Ulverston. Acres, 4,100. Real property, £8,650; of which £400 are in mines. Pop. in 1851, 891; in 1861, 1,080. Houses, 215. The property is much subdivided. Roman coins have been found. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, £300. Patrons, the Landowners. The church was recently restored. The p. curacy of Bardsea is a separate benefice. There are an endowed school with £15 a year, and charities £23.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.Cemeteries
- Holy Trinity, Main Street, Church of England, Bardsea
- St Mary the Virgin and St Michael, Church Road, Church of England
- Burial ground, Society of Friends, Sunbrick
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Urswick.Church History
Church Records
- Tarn Close, Church of Christ, Great Urswick
- Holy Trinity, Main Street, Church of England, Bardsea
- St Mary the Virgin and St Michael, Church Road, Church of England
- Long Lane, Congregational, Stainton
- Burial ground, Society of Friends, Sunbrick
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Urswick area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Urswick area is Ulverston.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Urswick which are provided by:
Directories
Urswick parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Urswick to another place.Maps
View maps of Urswick and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD260741 (Lat/Lon: 54.157365, -3.134706), Urswick which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Urswick was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

